My Review of Wideo

Posted on Updated on

Wideo is a web-based animation tool, created by the company Wideo LLC. Wideo’s headquarters is in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

I have been using the free version of Wideo for about two weeks now. I absolutely love Wideo!  I started playing around in the tool mainly because I thought it looked interesting, and because it is free.   Wideo is an extremely intuitive tool.  The main parts of the tool are the timeline, and the stage.  You add objects to the stage, add animations to the objects, and arrange the animation points on the timeline.  In Wideo you can upload your own content or use their pre-set content.

I don’t know if this is just in the free version of Wideo, but here are a few things I wish were different.

  • I think it might be nice to have more advanced audio controls, like an audio timeline and editing capabilities; that way voice could be added strategically.
  • For some reason when I try to group objects an animate them things get a bit screwy, like objects disappearing in the middle of an animation.
  • It would be fantastic if at some point Wideo LLC created a desktop version, like how Prezi has a web-based, and a desktop version. (A desktop version would be terrific for security purposes, but I totally get that the reason it is web-based is for sharing purposes!)

After watching a few Wideo projects by other Wideo users, some ideas began to spark in my head.  I thought to myself, “Wideo would be a great way to for me to create informative videos on instructional design topics.”  After starting my Wideo project, I realized that there is so much that can be done with the tool that I never thought of.  My next Wideo project will definitely be more advanced!  My first Wideo project will be about, “Why understanding technology is important for instructional designers.”  Check out Wideo to start creating your own informative animations!  Check it out at: www.wideo.co

wideo

– Melissa.

One thought on “My Review of Wideo

    Michael Puente said:
    April 4, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    Wideo is an ok tool for making animations quickly. But, audio controls are non-existent.

Leave a Reply

